CPN-MC candidate Pokharel emerged winner from Mahottari-1

MAHOTTARI: CPN Maoist Centre's candidate Girirajmani Pokharel has won the parliamentary election from Mahottari Constituency-1.

He received 23,776 votes against 19,492 secured by his arch-rival Laxmi Mahato of Federal Socialist Forum Nepal.

Earlier too, Pokharel was elected from Mahottari in the first and second Constituent Assembly elections in 2064 and 2070 BS.

Pokharel has already served the country as Health Minister and Education Minister.

Meanwhile, Sharada Devi Thapa and Bharat Saha have been elected the State Assembly members from Mahottari constituency 1 (Ka) and (Kha), respectively.

Meanwhile, CPN-UML candidate Raghubir Mahaseth has been elected as the parliamentary member from Dhanusha constituency-4.

According to the Chief Returning Officer, he received 22,532 votes. His close contender Mahajan Yadav of the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal obtained 19,662 votes.