UML finalises candidates for Makawanpur

Hetauda, April 26

The CPN-UML has finalised names of candidates for the upcoming local elections for all local bodies, except the only sub-metropolis in the district.

A UML provincial committee meeting today fixed the candidates who will contest from one municipality and eight rural municipalities.

As per the decision, Bishnu Dhakal and Kalpana Balami will be contesting for the post of mayor and deputy mayor respectively for Thaha municipality. Similarly, while Raj Kumar Timalsina and Dhanamaya Thing are fighting for the post of chairperson and vice-chairperson respectively in Bagmati Rural Municipality, Dal Bahadur Waiba and Sarala Bolakhe are the party’s official candidates for the top two posts for Bakaiya Rural Municipality.

Likewise, Himad Lama, Bidur Humagain, Ekraj Upreti, Lal Bahadur Thapa and Tanka Moktan have been picked to contest for the top post in Bhimfedi, Makawanpurgadhi, Manahari, Raksirang and Kailash rural municipalities respectively.

Parbati Rana, Harkamaya Rumba, Manila Bista, Suntali Chepang and Sukumaya Thing are the party’s candidates for vice-chairpersons in these rural municipalities. As for Hetauda Sub-metropolis, Hari Bahadur Mahat is tipped as the possible candidate for the mayoral post.