UML recommends 23 candidates for FPTP in Chitwan

RATNANAGAR: CPN-UML Chitwan has finalised the candidates to contest in the upcoming elections to the House of Representatives and State Assemblies.

The candidates to compete in the first-past-the-post (FPTP) system of election have been finalised, according to UML Chitwan Chair and MP Krishna Bhakta Pokharel.

Accordingly, former Finance Minister and MP Surendra Pandey has been recommended unanimously for constituency no. 1 and MP Krishna Bhakta Pokharel for constituency no. 2.

Likewise, four candidates including Ghanashyam Bhattarai, Shanker Thapaliya, Surya Jamarkattel, Bina Timilsina and Rabi Kiran Poudel have been recommended for constituency no. 3.

Those recommended for the provincial assembly include Dawa Lama and Krishna Pant for constituency no. 1 (a) and Krishna Khanal in (b), Bijaya Subedi in constituency no. 2 (a) and Tejendra Khadka in (b). In constituency no. 3 (a) Krishna Bhurtel and ten others in (b) of the same constituency have been recommended, UML Chitwan incharge Khanal said.

Prior to this, the Nepali Congress Chitwan has also made the final recommendation of its candidates while CPN MC is in the process of selection.