3 more members appointed in Nepali Congress CWC

KATHMANDU: Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba on Friday appointed three new members in the party's Central Working Committee.

Party central office's chief secretary Krishna Prasad Paudel informed that Kishor Singh Rathaur (Bardiya), Keshav Kumar Budhathoki (Jhapa) and Shyam Kumar Ghimire (Mahottari) were made the CWC members as per Article 21(l) of the party statute.

The party statute allows the President to pick 21 members in the 85-member CWC. Other 64 members including the President are elected from the general convention.

Immediately after the party's 13th national general convention in March, Deuba had appointed seven leaders - Ram Chandra Paudel, Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Arjun Narsingha KC, Gagan Kumar Thapa, Chitra Lekha Yadav, Uma Kanta Chaudhary and Narahari Acharya - in the CWC.

Now, he is required to pick 11 more to give the committee a full shape.

Deuba is also yet to appoint a Vice-President, a General Secretary and a Joint General Secretary from among the CWC members elected from the convention.

All the appointments have to be endorsed by the elected CWC.