Nepal | June 03, 2020

Deuba panel has comfortable majority in Congress CWC

Prakash Acharya
Share Now:
Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba

Newly elected president of Nepali Congress Sher Bahadur Deuba being congratulated by party cadres, well wishers and general public at his residence in Budanialkhantha on Tuesday, March 8, 2016. Photo: RSS

Kathmandu, March 14

The Nepali Congress today completed counting of votes for its Central Working Committee members, eight days after the voting was held on March 6.

Untitled-1Out of 64 elected positions, newly elected party president Sher Bahadur Deuba-led camp secured 36, while the rival panel led by Ramchandra Paudel won 28.

As the party president, Deuba can nominate 21 more CWC members to complete the 85-member CWC.

The party’s Election Committee today announced the names of members who won the CWC membership under the 25-member open category and 14 members representing two each from seven provinces.

Under the open category Deuba panel garnered 14 members while Paudel camp got 11 members. Among the 14 CWC members reserved for seven provinces, both the panels secured one each in each province.

Among 22 reserved CWC posts for Muslims, Dalits, women, indigenous and Madhesis, Deuba faction got 14 members while Paudel panel secured eight members.

Among the 3,148 votes, Shekhar Koirala polled the highest of 1,848 votes, followed by Khum Bahadur Khadka (1,846) and Prakash Man Singh (1,795) under the open category.

Under the provincial representations, the elected candidates from Province 1 are Gururaj Ghimire and Bhishma Raj Angdambe; Ananda Prasad Dhungana and Ramesh Rijal from Province 2; Nabindra Raj Joshi and Mohan Bahadur Basnet from Province 3; Govinda Bhattarai and Surendra Pande from Province 4; Dipak Giri and Devendra Raj Kandel from Province 5; Hridaya Ram Thani and Jiban Bahadur Shahi from Province 6; and Dilendra Prasad Badu and Bir Bahadur Balayar from Province 7.

Sher Bahadur Deuba has already been elected as the new president of the party, Shashanka Koirala as its general secretary and Sita Devi Yadav as its treasurer in the election held during the party’s 13th National General Convention held from March 3-7, including the runoff poll for the party president.

The Election Committee will provide certificates to winners during a function at the party headquarters in Sanepa scheduled for Wednesday, according to the committee’s coordinator Radheshyam Adhikari.


14 new faces

Sita Devi Yadav, Bishwa Prakash Sharma, Ramesh Lekhak, Kiran Yadav, Laxmi Pariyar, Ram Krishna Yadav, Mohan Bahadur Basnet, Devendra Raj Kandel, Chin Kaji Shrestha, Bir Bahadur Balayar, Kalyan Kumar Gurung, Bahadur Singh Lama, Dila Sangraula and Sarita Prasain



Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Chitra Lekha Yadav, Gagan Thapa, Ram Krishna Tamrakar, Arjun Narsingh KC, Arjun Prasad Joshi, Surya Man Gurung, Manmohan Bhattarai, Dina Mahalaxmi Upadhayaya, Padam Narayan Chaudhari, Din Bandhu Shrestha, Pratap Ram Lohar, Mohammad Aftab Alam, Rajan Prasad Panta, Krishna Chandra Nepali, Kabita Kumari Sardar Bantar, Ram Chandra Tiwari, Minakshi Jha, Ram Kumar Chaudhari


A version of this article appears in print on March 15, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Timo Werner

Leipzig move into third spot with 4-2 win at Cologne

BERLIN: RB Leipzig reclaimed third place in the Bundesliga with an entertaining 4-2 victory at Cologne on Monday that put them firmly on course for a Champions League spot with five games left in the season. Leipzig's second win in their last six league games put them two points ahead of Bo Read More...

Yubaraj Khatiwada

Idea came from private schools: Khatiwada 

Education Minister Pokharel says he had no clue about it  Kathmandu, June 1 Finance Minister Yubaraj Khatiwada today said the proposal to make each private school responsible for improving education quality of at least one public school was brought in consensus with the private school owners. Read More...

Nepal's Constitution

JSP-Nepal registers private constitution amendment bill 

Kathmandu, June 1  Janata Samajwadi Party-Nepal today registered a private constitution amendment bill at the Parliament Secretariat seeking to change several provisions of the constitution to address the demands of Madhesis, Janajatis and other marginalised groups and communities. The J Read More...

Plan to evacuate Nepalis from abroad unveiled

KATHMANDU, JUNE 1 The government has released an 11-point action plan to bring back and manage citizens who have been affected by COV- ID-19 and want to return home. Deputy Prime Minister Ishwor Pokharel, who is also coordinator of the High-Level Coordination Committee for the Prevention and C Read More...

Quarantined people’s swabs collected after minor’s death 

Bajura, June 1  The swab samples of people kept in the quarantine facility at Dhuralsain Secondary School were collected after the death of a two-year-old child in Budhiganga Municipality, Bajura. Municipality Mayor Dipak Bikram Sha said the child, who was infected with COV- ID-19, died Read More...

Tourist standard hotels agree to government rate for quarantine

KATHMANDU, JUNE 1 Tourist standard member hotels of the Hotel Association Nepal are ready to provide quarantine service at Rs 2,000 per night with four meals a day. Disclosing member hotels’ decision today, Binayak Shah, first vice-president of HAN, said, “Our proposal was to charge Rs 3,0 Read More...

Ten new Covid-19 cases detected in Gandaki province, five each in Parbat and Syangja

POKHARA: As many as 10 new cases of coronavirus infection were detected in Gandaki Province on Tuesday morning, taking the provincial tally to 37. According to Gandaki Health Directorate, Parbat reported its first five confirmed cases while the other five hailed from Syangja. Among the infecte Read More...

12 migrants returning from India killed in accident

NEPALGUNJ, JUNE 1 Twelve persons were killed and 21 were injured when a vehicle carrying migrant workers returning from India met with an accident in Thuriya forest of Banke’s Rapti Sonari Rural Municipality last night. According to District Police Office, the accident occurred when a bus ca Read More...