Nepal | April 01, 2020

Dozens held for striking in favour of transport syndicate

Himalayan News Service

Bhairahawa/Pokhara, May 4

Dozens of transport entrepreneurs were arrested from different places across the country for halting transport services in support of the syndicate system today.

Western Nepal Bus Entrepreneurs’ Association vice-chair Jivan Banjade and General Secretary Padam Gaha Magar were held from Rupandehi’s Butwal. Area Police Office, Butwal, nabbed Butwal Transport Entrepreneurs’ Committee vice-chair Ashok Kumar Shrestha.

Police also arrested Kavre Minibus Service Committee vice-chair Shantram Tamrakar. Likewise, Tempo and Taxi Entrepreneurs’ Association chair Gyanendra Karki, and members Krishna Shrestha, and Krishna Neupane were also nabbed.

In Rautahat, Rautahat Bus Entrepreneurs Association chair Ramashankar Giri, Rautahat Truck Entrepreneurs’ Association chair Dhruba Prasad Aryal, and Tempo and Taxi Entrepreneurs’ Association chair Tara Prasad Bajgai were held. Police arrested nine persons including Nepal Transport Entrepreneurs’ National Federation vice-chair Krishna Prasad Subedi from Sunsari’s Dharan. Others arrested are Koshi Bus Entrepreneurs’ general secretary Netra Thapa, Samyuka Bus Entrepreneurs’ Association chair Narendra Pomu, Eastern Transport Entrepreneurs’ Association vice-chair Mohanmani Baral, Saptakoshi Bus Entrepreneurs’ general secretary Hari Thapa, and Samyuka Bus Entrepreneurs’ Association chair Padam Sundar Limbu.

Likewise, seven transport entrepreneurs were arrested from Jhapa. Those arrested include Himal Transport Association acting chair Bhupal Oli, Eastern Bus Entrepreneurs’ Association chair Keshav Giri, Mechi Bus Entrepreneurs Association chair Mohan Prasad Upreti and Sagarmatha Transport Private Limited chair Khagendra Upreti.

Rudra Bahdaur Nepali and Prem Gurung of Prithvi Highway Bus Entrepreneurs’ Committee and Rames Suchikar and Sunil Thapa affiliated to Pokhara Bus Entrepreneurs’ Committee were held from Pokhara. Police nabbed Shreenagar Transport Entrepreneurs’ Committee treasurer Kiran Chitrakar, and Western Nepal Bus Entrepreneurs’ Association Palpa in-charge Bikash Bhattarai.

Kalika Transport Management Committee chairman Krishna Bahadur Adhikari, senior vice-chair Narayan Ghimire, vice-chair Biswombhar Aryal, Secretary Mrigendra Ghimire and member Resham Danai were arrested from Lamjung headquarters Besisahar.

Similarly, police arrested Mahakali Transport chair Dammar Raj Pant and three others from Kanchnapur’s Mahendranagar. Others arrested are Mahamali Tempo and Taxi Entrepreneurs’ Committee chair Janak Bahadur Chand, Surendra Awasthi and Dan Singh Dhami, said DSP Gyan Bahadur Sethi.

Similarly, Rautahat police arrested six transport entrepreneurs. Those arrested include Rautahat Bus Entrepreneurs’ Association district chair Ramashankar Giri, joint-secretary Manoj Neupane, member Rajesh Raut, Truck Entrepreneurs’ chair Dhruba Aryal, Tara Bajgai and Shyam Devkota of Medium Transport Entrepreneurs’ Association.


A version of this article appears in print on May 05, 2018 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: