Dr Shrestha elected Nepal Medical Association President

KATHMANDU: Dr Mukti Ram Shrestha of the democratic panel has been elected the new President of Nepal Medical Association (NMA).

Dr Shrestha garnered 1,652 votes to beat his closest rival Dr Ramesh Dhakal, who managed 1,132 votes during the NMA's 27th election.

The democratic panel, close to Nepali Congress (NC), has secured all of the posts save one and thereby repeating the earlier election trend.

Dr Dhundiraj Poudel was elected the Senior Vice-President of NMA with 1,617 votes while his rival Dr Santosh Paudel garnered 1,107 votes. Dr Mukunda Dahal has been elected the Association's Vice-President with 1,509 votes while Dr Lochan Karki was elected General Secretary with 1,300 votes.

Likewise, Dr Rakshya Shrestha has been elected the Treasurer with 1,439 votes under the inclusive quota. Dr Abimanyu Jha has been elected NMA's Joint-Secretary after securing 1,458 votes while Dr Prakash Budhathoki has been elected Joint-Treasurer with 1,374 votes.

The NMA elected Dr Shailesh Pradhan, Dr Sanjeev Tiwari, Dr Anil Bikram Karki, Dr Krishna Poudel, Dr Bishworaj Dawadi and Dr Badri Rijal as its members.

A total of 2,869 NMA members cast their votes in the election held in two rounds – one within the Kathmandu Valley and other outside. The Association has 5,305 registered members.