EC apprises political parties of National Assembly poll issues

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission on Tuesday, called a meeting of various five political parties and apprised them of the preparations, programmes and processes of the February 7 National Assembly election.

CPN (UML) leader Subash Chandra Nembang after the meeting confirmed that the EC briefed the political parties on the poll programmes and processes.

"The incumbent government will temporarily name the capital of the provinces as per the constitution and laws. I believe that political consensus will be struck on the matter," he said. There are the total 2,056 local and provincial representatives will vote in the poll.

The meeting was attended by Nembang, Agni Kharel from the UML, Ramesh Lekhak and Bal Krishna Khand from the Nepali Congress, Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Dev Gurung and Ram Narayan Bidari from the CPN (Maoist Centre), Rajendra Shrestha from Sanghiya Samajwadi Forum, Mahanta Thakur from the Rastriya Janata Party, and Ishwori Poudel and Nagendra Dahal from the EC.