Citing an issue of appeal to the voters regarding the upcoming local level election, the Election Commission has sought clarification from five journalists for violating the election code of conduct.

The journalists have been asked to submit their response within 24 hours.

The EC has asked clarification from Chairman of Nepal Press Union Badri Sigdel, Chairman of Press Centre Nepal Bishnu Sapkota, Chairman of Socialist Press Organisation Shambhu Shrestha, Chairman of Press Forum Nepal Keshav Aryal and Secretary of Progressive Journalists' Association Shyamlal Pokharel.

The EC stated that an appeal to the voters made by the five journalists asking vote for the candidates of the five-party left-democratic alliance was against the Election Code of Conduct, 2021.

Clause 22 of the Election Code of Conduct, 2021 has stated that journalists and employees working in media houses should not publish and broadcast news in favour of and against any candidate.

A version of this article appears in the print on May 09, 2022, of The Himalayan Times.