EC directs ministry to set up DCCs

Kathmandu, Sept 9

The Election Commission has directed the Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development to set up offices of District Coordination Committee in split districts of Nawalparasi and Rukum, appoint local development officers and inform the poll panel by September 16.

In Nawalparasi, nine local units fall in Province 4 and seven in Province 5, while  in Rukum, six local units are in Province 6 and three in Province 5.

In a statement issued today, the Election Commission  said it had already decided to appoint chief election officers to hold election of the DCCs in these four districts after receiving the names of the judges at the recommendation of the Judicial Council. However, without determining the number of the members of the DCCs, the chief election officer cannot hold the election.

The number of members of the District Coordination Committee is determined by the meeting of the District Assembly.

For this, the ministry has to set up offices of District Coordination Committee and appoint local development officers in these four districts, according to the Election Commission.