EC to distribute voter identity cards from May 11

Kathmandu, April 7

The Election Commission today said it would retain polling stations of the second Constituent Assembly polls held in 2013 in six districts of Province 2, if political parties failed to forge consensus on the same.

The election body said it could not wait too long for political consensus on polling stations in the six remaining districts of Province 2, namely Siraha, Dhanusha, Rautahat, Mahottari, Saptari and Sarlahi.

“We cannot wait too long for political consensus,” said EC Commissioner Narendra Dahal.  According to Dahal, Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhi Prasad Yadav has asked the government and parties to forge consensus at the earliest or the commission would be compelled to retain the polling stations used in 2013 polls.

Due to inability to finalise polling stations in the six districts of Province 2, the EC has not been able to update voter identity cards.

“We are also facing difficulties in launching voter education campaign in the six districts,” said SC’s Spokesperson Surya Prasad Sharma.  The EC, which has completed printing of ballot papers for 67 districts, said it would resume printing for the remaining districts soon.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission said it would distribute voter identity cards needed to cast votes in the local level elections from May 11 to 13.

The EC said that it would not allow anyone to cast vote without voter ID in the local level elections slated for May 14.

“We will provide voter ID to all voters prior to election date,” said EC’s Spokesperson Surya Prasad Sharma. He said voters could collect their voter IDs from their local election offices.