EC registers highest number of voters in Morang district

Biratnagar, October 9

As per the list lately made public by the Election Commission, Morang district has 644,785 voters for the upcoming provincial and parliamentary elections scheduled for November 26 and December 7. This is the highest number of voters recorded in a district across the country.

As per Regional Election Office, Biratnagar, Kathmandu has the second and Jhapa has the third highest number of voters after Morang in the country. There are a total of 2,993,669 voters in 14 districts of Province 1. Of them, 1,508,766 are male while 1,484,887 are females and 16 are third gender. They will be casting their votes for 28 representatives of the Parliament and 56 members of provincial assembly.

A total of 69,442 voters in Solukhumbu, 1,05,621 voters in Sankhuwasabha, 1,13,896 voters in Bhojpur, 1,02263 voters in Okhaldhunga, 78,411 voters in Taplejung, 1,25,178 voters in Panchthar and 1,25,178 voters in Khotang are going to cast their votes from Province 1 in the first round of provincial and parliamentary elections slated for November 26.

Similarly, there are 204,050 voters in Ilam, 193,913 voters in Udaypur, 66,741 voters in Terhathum, 105,199 voters in Dhankuta, 585,228 voters in Jhapa and 474,003 voters in Sunsari district for the second phase of provincial and parliamentary elections slated for December 7.

There are six constituencies for parliamentary elections and 12 constituencies for provincial elections in Morang. There are as many as 644,785 voters in Morang for the upcoming elections. This number is 70,000 more than the number of voters enlisted for the local level elections, according to Information Officer Bhakta Bahadur Bhattarai at Regional Election Office, Biratnagar.