Election results of 13 local units in Morang declared; NC takes lead

Biratnagar, July 5

The result of the second phase of civic polls in 13 local units has been announced in Morang so far.

Of the 17 local levels, Nepali Congress has stood in first position in 13 local units and CPN-UML is in second position, while Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal and Nepal Democratic Forum are in third position.

As per the election result announced today, Khadga Phago from NC and Laxmi Devi Bhandari from UML won the mayoral and deputy mayoral seats respectively in Urlabari Municipality of Morang.

Kali Prasad Das and Manju Kumari Rai from NC were elected mayor and deputy mayor respectively in Sunbarshi Municipality. The NC also won in Sunadar Harinchya Municipality, Kerabari Rural Municipality, Ratuwamai Municipality, Letang Municipality and Katahari Rural Municipality.

Mayoral candidate Ghanashyam Subedi and deputy mayoral candidate Dhaka Kumari Parajuli from UML won the election in Belbari Municipality. The UML also won in Kanepokhari, Gramthan and Miklajung rural municipalities.

Similarly, Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar-led Nepal Democratic Forum won the election in Budhiganga Rural Municipality, while Upendra Yadav-led Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal won the election in Jadaha Rural Municipality.

Kailash Mandal and Salodevi Sah of Forum Nepal were elected as chair and vice chair in Jadaha Rural Municipality. It is said that the CPN-Maoist Centre is yet to win in Morang district.

Vote counting is under way in Biratnagar Metropolitan City, Patharisanischare and Rangeli municipalities and Dhanpalthan Rural Municipality in the district.

The UML is leading in Patharisanischare Municipality and Dhanpalthan Rural Municipality while CPN-MC is leading in Rengali Municipality and the NC is leading in Biratnagar Metropolitan City.