Ex VDCs allotted to Provinces 5 and 6

Kathmandu, April 26

The government has decided to keep 11 previous Village Development Committees, including Sisne VDC of Rukum District in Province 5 and the remaining VDCs of the district in Province 6.

The Cabinet also decided to merge Wards No 6 and 7 of Tribedi VDC with Binayi VDC of Nawalparasi District and keep them in province 4.

Ministry of Women, Children and Social Welfare Kumar Khadka told this daily that the Cabinet took this decision to facilitate the Election Commission to conduct the local level elections in these two districts in the first and the second phases.

According to him, the Constitution had not clearly defined exactly which portions of these districts fell to which province. Areas of Nawalparasi and Rukum districts have been split into two different provinces.

Meanwhile, the Cabinet also decided to inform the EC about this decision with the purpose of holding elections in two phases, Khadka added.