Forces nab party cadres nationwide

Dang, February 6:

Security personnel today arrested 28 demonstrators from a protest rally being organised by the joint people’s movement coordination committee Dang. The protesters were demanding boycott of the municipal polls in Tulsipur today.

Those arrested are Kirtibahadur Khadka, Shyam Regmi, Mahesh Acharya, Rajendra Dhital, Ghanashyam Regmi, Tika Gharti, Jogendra Bishwokarma, Gyanprasad Subedi, Madan Rasik, Bhanubhakta Poudel, Ghanashyam Sepaili, Durga Budhathoki, Parinaya Bikram Shah, Chhandabahadur G.C., Chudamani Gautam, Topendra Tanneri, Yagyanarayan Acharya, Indrabahadur G.C. and Birbahadur Basnet of the Nepali Congress party.

Srimani Acharya, Upendra Gautam, Krishnaprasad Bhusal, Dhanbahadur Oli, Mahesh Devkota, Shantakumar Oli of the NCP (UML) were also arrested. The police also arrested Prakash Devkota and Raviraj Gautam of the Nepali Congress (D) and Narayan Bhandari of the Janamorcha Nepal.

The protest rally begun from the Nepali Congress (D)’s office and the demonstrators were arrested before they could go around the city. At that time, the administrators had issued a prohibition that more than four persons cannot gather in the Tulsipur bazaar.

Meanwhile, a report from Mahottari said the security personnel have arrested five cadres of the seven agitating political parties in front of the Jaleshwor Mahadev temple, today.

The police also arrested 20 cadres of the seven agitating political parties in Rajbiraj today. They were demanding of the municipal polls. A report from Bara said security personnel arrested 25 cadres while trying to gherao the district election office today.