Nepal | April 07, 2020

Four ethnic parties to unite

Himalayan News Service

Jhapa, May 26

Rastriya Janamukti Party, Federal Limbuwan Party Nepal, Limbuwan National Revolutionary Party and Kochila Unity Morcha have decided to merge.

Organising a joint press meet at Jhapa’s Birtamode today, the four parties signed a six-point agreement and decided to merge their parties.

Rastriya Janamukti Party’s KP Palung, Federal Limbuwan Party’s Sanjuhang Palungwa, Limbuwan National Revolutionary Party’s Misekhang Thamsuhang and Kochila Unity Morcha’s Dinesh Rajbanshi have signed a six-point agreement for unification. The unification date will be set later after settlement of technical and ideological issues.

Federal Limbuwan Party Nepal chairman Palungwa said they had decided to unify their parties for joint agitation. “Our unification is a must to pile pressure on the government to rewrite the constitution. We have no choice but to unify for our rights,” Palungwa said. After unification, party’s leaders will be selected on the basis of consensus.

Rastriya Janamukti Party Chair KP Palungwa said that they had no problem in the unified party’s name, leadership and its election symbol. He said the unified party would be the third largest political force.

A version of this article appears in print on May 27, 2018 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: