Four former DIGs eligible for promotion

Kathmandu, December 18

The government lost a review case it had filed against the Supreme Court’s verdict that had ordered the government to promote four former Deputy Inspector Generals of Nepal Police to the post of AIG.

Four DIGs  Yadav Raj Adhikari, Bishwaraj Singh Shahi, Parshuram Khatri and Sushilwor Singh Thapa (now retired on account of age bar), had moved the court when the government promoted other nine DIGs to AIGs.

These four former DIGs were not among the nine DIGs who were promoted to the post of AIG.

The court had delivered its verdict on September 23, 2014 ordering the government to promote these four officers to AIGs by creating new posts if there were no posts vacant.

Adhikari told THT that with today’s verdict of the apex court they were eligible for promotion to the post of AIG. Today’s decision was taken by the full bench of Chief Justice Kalyan Shrestha, Justices Sushila Karki and Debenra Gopal Shrestha.

A joint bench of Justices Dipak Raj Joshi and Om Prakash Mishra had ruled that   the four senior officers were deprived of promotion in breach of existing regulations.