Gachhadhar's Forum, Bhanuram Tharu's Tharuhat Tarai Party unify

KATHMANDU: Acknowledging "co-existence of both the parties", Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum Nepal Democratic, led by Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar, and Tharuhat Tarai Party Nepal, led by Bhanuram Tharu, are announcing their unification today.

A 27-point draft agreement has already been already been prepared for unification, leader Min Raj Chaudhary informed. It, however, could be slightly modified before the top leaders of both the parties sign the agreement.

Earlier, Shiva Lal Thapa-led Rastriya Janamukti Party-Democratic and Yashoda Kumari Lama-led Dalit Janajati Party had unified with the Gachhadar-led party with an understanding to name the new party Nepal Lokatantrik Forum (Nepal Democratic Forum).

The Forum has 17 members including 14 from Gachhadar’s side, two from Thapa’s party and one from Lama's party.

On the other hand, Tharuhat Tarai Party Nepal currently has one lawmaker in the Parliament as Ganga Chaudhary defected to Naya Shakti Party Nepal.

After unification with the Tharuhat Tarai Party Nepal, the party will take part in the local elections as Nepal Loktantrik Forum. It, however, will continue the struggle for demands of Tharuhat.

A unity convention, which will be held after the local level elections, will change the party's name to Nepal Lokatantrik Party, according Min Raj Chaudhary.

It is believed that the provision for election threshold has compelled small parties to resort to merger or unification.