The government has signed a six-point agreement with Thaurhat-Tharuwan Struggle Committee, on Tuesday.

The government and Tharu Welfare Society, Tharuhat-Tharuwan Joint Struggle Committee have agreed that the government will take initiative to retract the case against Tikapur incident accused Resham Lal Chaudhary, Dhaniram Chaudhary and Laxman Chaudhary, among others according to the constitution and relevant laws, according to Rajan Bhattarai, Foreign Affairs Advisor to Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli.

The agreement also decided to provide relief to the families of martyrs of the Tharuhat-Tharuwan struggle, treatment to the injured and to provide compensation for economic loss incurred during the same.

Both sides also have agreed to make provision for reservation for the Tharuhat in all levels of the country according to constitutional provision and the rulings of the Supreme Court.

According to the agreement, the government will initiate a process to provide education to the Tharu community children till primary level in their mother tongue in Tharu majority areas.

The agreement was signed by the Minister of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Lila Nath Shrestha, Rajan Bhattarai, and Bhagawati Chaudhary on behalf of the government while Rukmini Chaudhary, Premi Lal Chaudhary, PadmaNarayan Chaudhary, Prabhat Chaudhary and Chandra Prasad Chaudhary signed in on behalf of the struggle committee.

Release of Resham Lal Chaudhary, a JSP-N member, who was elected Member of Parliament from the then Rashtriya Janata Party, is one of the major demands of the Thakur-Mahato faction of the JSP-N to continue their support to PM Oli, and to join the government.

Preparations are underway for the Thakur-Mahato faction leaders to join the government.

No Image

No Image