June 28 polls in Province 2 deferred

KATHMANDU: A decision has been made to postpone the local level elections in Province No 2 following the meeting between the ruling parties and the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal on Thursday.

The meeting was held  between the ruling coalition-Nepali Congress and the CPN Maoist Centre- and the agitating party, RJP-N, at the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers at Singhdurbar.

Nepali Congress leader and former Home Minister Bimalendra Nidhi informed THT Online over the phone that the agreement to defer the polls of Province 2 has been reached, adding the government is also going to request Election Commission to conduct the polls in the province by the second week of September, 2017.

Nidhi also added that filing of nomination papers tomorrow for the June 28 polls will be deferred by 2 to 3 days.

After the first round of the polls in Province 3, 4 and 6 on May 14, the second phase of elections was going to be held in Province No. 1, 2, 5 and 7.

However, the RJP-N had threatened to disrupt the polls if their demands of the amendment of the constitution and the increase in the number of local bodies in Terai district were not addressed before the June 28 polls.

Nidhi, who also participated in the discussions, said the today's discussions have been very fruitful in the context of the ongoing home work and every efforts being made towards bringing the RJPN  on board the elections.

There are eight districts- Bara, Dhanusha, Mahottari, Parsa, Rautahat, Saptari, Sarlahi and Siraha- in Province 2.