Senior literary writer Bairagi Kainla today honoured three littérateurs with 'Shrasta Chaitra 30' commemorating their role in the people's movement for attainment of democracy.

Noted literary writer Kainla felicitated Basudev Adhikari, Bibash Pokharel and Shardul Bhattarai at the programme hosted by 'Shrastha Chaitra 30', an organisation established at the initiative of 17 youth literary writers to enliven the contributions of the literary sector in the political movement.

The honour for the fiscal 2021-22 was conferred on literary writer duo, Adhikari and Pokharel while Bhattarai was felicitated for the fiscal 2020-21.

Among the honoured, Krishna Dharabasi will be felicitated later as he is currently out of the country.

Former Chancellor of Nepal Academy Kainla expressed sorrow over the hapless status of literary writers after political change despite their power to create wave in the favour of change. He also vented ire on the failure to transform internal structures of the society along with political change. He stressed the need for literary writers to retaliate against the move to suppress people's rights from any side.

Speaking on the occasion, noted poet and Rastriya Samachar Samiti's executive Chair Shyamal Adhikari urged creative writers to internalise the grave issues of commoners in their creations.

Likewise, critic Gyanu Pandey expressed happiness over the bid to felicitate literary writers for change.

Chairperson of 'Shrasta Chaitra 30' Manoj Neupane said creative writers would continually keep vigil for protection and promotion of civic liberties and freedom of expression.

Founder Chair of the organisation RM Dangol underlined the need to create dialogue and discourse in a bid to protect records of the movement and its future direction.

A version of this article appears in the print on April 14, 2022, of The Himalayan Times