Nepal | April 07, 2020

KC, Pangeni and Ghale win NC regional polls

Himalayan News Service
Nepali Congress regional polls

(From right) Baikuntha Neupane, Bishwo Bastola and Resham Gurung, who were elected chairman, secretary and treasurer, respectively in the 13th district convention of Nepali Congress, in Damauli, Tanahun, on Tuesday. Photo: THT

Pokhara, February 9

NC leader Krishna KC has made it to the post of district president in Kaski, ending the years-long winning streak of his rival Shukraraj Sharma.

Despite being close to party president Sushil Koirala, Sharma had contested with the support of the Deuba camp, seeking to give continuity to his 17-year stint as party district president.

Sharma had the support of the majority of veteran leaders, while on KC’s side was the support of former deputy speaker Taranath Ranabhat.

Sharma lost to KC by 41 votes. The former received 328 votes against 369 in KC’s favour. Six of the votes cast were invalid.

Sudip Mohan Bhattarai was elected district secretary and Laxmi Pande was voted co-treasurer.

In Syangja, NC leader Kamal Pangeni was elected district president. Kumar Rana and Premraj Rana won the posts of district secretary and co-treasurer respectively in the district.

In Gorkha, Hari Bahadur Ghale was elected for the second term as district president, while the post of secretary and co-treasurer went to Purna Bahadur Dahal and Krishna Bahadur Ale respectively.

A version of this article appears in print on February 10, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: