Left alliance heading for comfortable majority

Kathmandu, December 9

Results of parliamentary first-past-the-post elections so far have gone in favour of the left alliance forged between the CPN-UML and the CPN-Maoist Centre. The ruling Nepali Congress has won one parliamentary seat each from Morang and Rasuwa and four seats from Kathmandu.

According to the Election Commission data released by9:00pm, NC candidate from Kathmandu Constituency- 10 Rajendra Kumar KC won the election by a margin of 2,283 votes. KC bagged 24,190 votes. His nearest rival Hitman Shakya of left alliance got 21,907 votes.

NC’s Prakash Man Singh who contested from Kathmandu-1retained his constituency for the third time. He garnered 10, 936 votes. His nearest rival was Bibeksheel Sajha Party’s Rabindra Mishra who secured 10,118votes.

NC’s Gagan Kumar Thapa has been elected from Kathmandu-4. He bagged 21,558 votes. His nearest rival was left alliance’s Rajan Bhattarai who got 18,140 votes.

Left alliance’s Krishna Bahadur Rai has won from Kathmandu-3securing 19,169 votes. His nearest rival was NC’s Ambika Basnet who got 14,884votes.

Former Prime Minister and CPN-UML leader Madhav Kumar Nepal has won from Kathmandu-2 by a big margin of more than 10,000 votes. He secured27,366 votes. His nearest rival was Dipak Prakash Kuikel who got 14,902 votes.

Left alliance’s Ramvir Manandhar has won from Kathmaandu-7with 18,102 votes. His nearest rival was RPP’s Bikram Thapa who got 10,079votes.

Similarly, left alliance’s Jeevan Ram Shrestha has won fromKathmandu-8. He got 13,397 votes. His nearest rival was NC’s Nabindra Raj Joshi who got 12,953 votes.

Left alliance’s candidate Krishna Gopal Shrestha has won from Kathmandu-9. He got 22,852 votes. His nearest rival was NC’s Dhyan Govinda Rajnit who got 14,802 votes.

NC’s Bhimsen Das Pradhan has been elected from Kathmandu-6. He got 16,785 votes against his nearest rival of left alliance Jhakku Prasad Subedi’s 15,485 votes.

Left alliance has won five out of six constituencies in Morang district. Left Alliance’s Ghanashyam Khatiwada won from Morang-1 with37,524 votes. NC candidate Minendra Rijal has won from Morang-2 with 35,819votes.

Left alliance’s candidates Bhanubhakta Dhakal has won fromMorang-3 with 42,413 votes, from Morang-4 Aman Lal Modi has won with a comfortable margin of 6,729 votes, Shiv Kumar Mandal Kewat has been elected from Morang-5with 22,945 votes.

Left alliance’s Lalbabu Pandit has won from Morang-6 with a margin of 675 votes. He polled 33,941 votes. His nearest rival from NC Dr Shekhar Koirala got 33,266 votes.

Left Alliance’s Krishna Lal Maharjan has won election fromLalitpur-2. He got 27,713 votes. His nearest rival NC’s Chandra Maharjan got16,945 votes. Left alliance’s Krishna Lal Maharjan has been elected from Lalitpur-2 with 27,713 votes. His nearest rival was NC’s Chandra Maharjan who got 16,945 votes.

Left alliance candidate Pampha Bhusal has won from Lalitpur3. She got 24,036 votes. Her nearest rival from NC Madan Bahadur Amatya got 22,328 votes.

Left alliance candidate in Dolakha Parvat Gurung has won parliamentary elections by a huge margin of more than 30,000 votes. He got55,954 votes. His nearest rival NC’s Rudra Bhadur Khadka got 25,801 votes.

Left alliance’s candidate in Panchthar Basant Kumar Nembang has won election by a margin of more than 10,000 votes. He bagged 38,616 votes. His nearest rival was NC’s Bhishma Raj Angdembe who got 28,035 votes.

Left alliance’s Dhan Bahadur Budha has won from Dolpa. He got 11,761 votes. His nearest rival was NC’s Angad Kumar Budha who got 3,167votes.

Left alliance’s candidate Yogesh Bhattarai has won from Taplejung. He got 29,479 votes. His nearest rival was NC’s Keshav Prasad Dahal who got 16,888 votes.

Left alliance’s candidate Bhumi Prasad Tripathi has won fromDhading-1. He got 49, 121 votes. His nearest rival was NC’s Bishwa Prasad Aryal who got 21,968 votes. Left alliance’s Khem Prasad Lohani has been elected fromDhading-2. He secured 36,256 votes. His nearest rival was NC’s Dilman Pakhrin who got 35,616 votes.

Left Alliance’s Agni Prasad Sapkota and Sher Bahadur Tamang have won from Sindhupalchowk-1 and 2 respectively. Sapkota got 40,504 votes. His nearest rival was NC’s Mohan Bahadur Basnet who got 29, 798 votes. Tamang secured 38,401 votes. His nearest rival was Pashupati Shamsher JB Rana of Rastriya Prajatantra-Democratic who got 30,369 votes.

Similarly, left alliance’s candidates Surya Prasad Pathakhas won from Baglung-1 with 33,657 votes, Devendra Paudel has won fromBaglung-2 securing 28,827 votes, Shakti Bahadur Basnet has won from Jajarkot with 32,281 votes, Lal Bahadur Thapa has won from Bajura with 28,065 votes,Bhairab Bahadur Singh has won from Bajhang with 32,167 votes, Ganesh Singh Thagunna has won from Darchula with 28,998 votes, Damodar Bhandari has won from Baitadi with 39,524 votes, Hem Kumar Rai has won from Solukhumbu securing20,747 votes, Rabindra Raj Sharma has won from Dailekha-1 with 23,773 votes,Bishal Bhattarai has won from Khotang with 36,329 votes, Yagyaraj Sunuwar has won from Okhaldhunga with 32,580 votes, Dev Gurung has won from Lamjung with39, 468 votes, Rabindra Adhikari has won from Kaski-2 with 27,207 votes and Krishna Bahadur Mahara has won from Dang-2. He bagged 40,042 votes.

Likewise, Naya Shakti Party-Nepal’s Coordinator Baburam Bhattarai has from Gorkha-2 with 32,107votes. His nearest rival was left alliance’s Narayan Kaji Shrestha who got24,933 votes. Chair of Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal Upendra Yadav has won fromSaptari-2. He secured 21,620 votes.

NC’s Mohan Acharya has won from Rasuwa. He got 14,453 votes. His nearest rival was left alliance’s Janardan Dhakal who got 10,278 votes.