Left alliance sure of victory in Maoist bastion

Dang, November 8

CPN-Maoist Centre and CPN-UML which are in an alliance to consolidate their chances of victory in the upcoming parliamentary and provincial elections,seem confident about their victory in Rolpa, the cradle of the Maoist revolution.

The district has one parliamentary seat and two provincial seats and CPN-MC candidates are contesting all the seats on behalf of the alliance. If the results of the local elections are anything to go by, victory of the left alliance candidates is quite evident. Of the 10 local units in the district, CPN-MC and UML had won 7 and 2 local units respectively, leaving only one seat for the Nepali Congress during local elections.

Influential CPN-MC leader and former finance minister Barshaman Pun is contesting for the only parliamentary seat from the district, while Kul Prasad KC and Dipendra Pun are running for the provincial assembly. Nepali Congress has fielded former irrigation minister Amarsingh Pun as its parliamentary candidate from here, whereas Sher Bahadur Mahara and Khagendra Hamal are fighting for the provincial seats. But, odds for the leftist alliance are said to be pretty high given the candidacy of popular Maoist leaders and the status of the district itself as the birthplace of Maoist party.

After the Maoist rebels joined the peace process, Maoist leader Jayapuri Ghari Magar and Maoist party Chairperson Puspa Kamal Dahal had won from Rolpa-1 and 2 respectively during the first Constituent Assembly election. Later Maoist leader Santosh Budha Magar was elected from Rolpa-2 in the by-election after Dahal left the constituency given the fact that he was also elected from Kathmandu-10.

Maoist leaders Krishna Bahadur Mahara and former speaker Onsari Gharti Magar were elected from Constituency-1 and 2 respectively during the second CA poll. It is important to note that Maoist candidates in the elections this time are new to the district.