Lekharaj and Gaurishankar win from Kailali-4 and 3

DHANGADI: CPN-MC politburo member and provincial in-charge Lekhraj Bhatta and leader Gaurishankar Chaudhary were elected to the Parliament from Kailali-4 and 3 respectively.

While Bhatta secured 31,359 votes to upset his rival Sunil Bhandari of Nepali Congress with 20,960 votes in his name, former minister and another CPN-MC candidate Chaudhary gained 24,873 votes to eke out victory against his contender Ram Janam Chaudhary, who won 20,473 votes.

Similarly, UML district chair Dirgha Sodari and another UML candidate Krishna Subedi have been elected to the provincial assembly from Constituency-4. UML’s Amar Bahadur Saud and CPN-MC’s Birman Chaudhary made it to the provincial assembly from Constituency No 3.

Meanwhile, vote counting is on in constituencies 1 and 2. In Constituency No 1, Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal’s Krishna Bahadur Chaudhary has, however, been elected with 12,320 votes from the provincial constituency ‘ka’. He defeated his closest contender NC’s Janak Chaudhary, who secured 9,313 votes.

Similarly, NC’s Rana Bahadur Rawal has scooped victory as a provincial assembly member from the provincial constituency ‘Kha’.


Left alliance wins in Kailali 3 and 4

DHANGADHI: Left alliance candidates have emerged victorious in the elections to the House of Representatives from Kailali Constituency 3 and 4.

According to the vote count results, Maoist Centre leader Lekhraj Bhatta secured victory in Kailali Constituency 4 by obtaining 31,359 votes. His close contender Sunil Kumar Bhandari of the Nepali Congress got 20,960 votes.

Likewise, Maoist Centre candidate Gauri Shanker Chaudhary received 24,879 votes to win the parliamentary election from constituency-3. His close contender Ramjanam Chaudhary of the Nepali Congress secured 20,494 votes.