Rajbiraj, September 23

The Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal and the Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal are giving a tough fight to the Nepali Congress in Saptari. Of the 18 local units, results of 13 local units have been declared in the district so far.

As per the results made public till date, NC and FSF-N have won in four local levels each, while RJP-N is trailing them with victory in three local units. The CPN-UML and the Naya Shakti Nepal each have achieved victory in one local level.

NC mayoral and deputy mayoral candidates Muktinath Chaudhary and Mina Chaudhary have been elected from Surunga Municipality, while the party  has also won in three rural municipalities—Belhi Chapena, Bishnupur and Agnisair Krishna Sawaran.

FSF-N candidates Ates Kumar Singh Yadav and Ranju Kumari Sah have been elected for the post of mayor and deputy mayor respectively from Bode Barasain Municipality, while Dayananda Goit and Rubi Gupta have been elected for the top posts in Balan Bihul Rural Municipality. The party has also won in Mahadeva and Tirahut Rural Municipalities.

Similarly, RJP-N has registered victory in Dakaneshwori Municipality, and Koiladi Tilathi and Rupani rural municipalities. While NSN has eked victory in Chhinnamasta Rural Municipality, UML has achieved victory in Saptakoshi Municipality.

Meanwhile, vote counting of Rajbiraj Municipality-15 has been disrupted after a dispute surfaced among political parties demanding recount of votes citing inconsistencies in the data of vote count issued by the election office.

Polls in the ward had been halted after an election candidate died two days ahead of the Monday’s third round of local elections.

Returning Officer Sharada Prasad Koirala clarified he couldn’t oblige the political parties in their demand for vote recount and said he had communicated the same thing to the Election Commission.

Local administration of Rajbiraj, however, informed about EC’s preparations to deploy another team for recounting votes.