Remaining 37 districts will have the elections on May 10


The government has decided to hold the mid-term polls in 40 districts of the nation on April 30 and in the remaining 37 districts on May 10.

A meeting of the Council of Ministers, on Monday, took a decision to this effect. It has been learnt that the Cabinet has decided to hold elections in 40 districts of Province 2, Gandaki, Lumbini, and Karnali Provinces on April 30 under the first phase while polls in 37 districts of Province 1, Bagmati, and Sudurpaschim Provinces will be held on May 10.

The aforementioned dates for elections were announced on December 20 after Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli recommended dissolution of House of Representatives of the federal parliament. This was swiftly approved by President Bidya Devi Bhandari.

This move on the part of the Prime Minister and quick approval by the President have drawn much flak since, among political parties as well as the general public. It also led to the official split of ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) into two factions -- one led by Prime Minister Oli himself and the other splinter group led by former prime ministers Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Madhav Kumar Nepal.

In the aftermath of which, both the NCP factions are fighting for party legitimacy at the Election Commission. Meanwhile, multiple writs have been filed at the Supreme Court against the House dissolution. For the elections to be legitimised, the Court will have to rule in favour of the government.

As the government continues to justify the move, those who have filed petitions against the HoR dismantling have termed it undemocratic and unconstitutional.