Mixed bag election results in Rautahat

Rautahat, December 10

The results of parliamentary and provincial assembly elections have been a mixed bag for the left alliance, Nepali Congress and Madhesi alliance, in Rautahat district.

According to chief returning officer’s office, of the four parliamentary seats in the district, two seats went to NC, while one seat each was secured by the left alliance and Madhesi alliance. Similarly, of the eight provincial assembly seats in the district, the Madhesi alliance won three seats, the left alliance two seats and the NC and an independent candidate won one seat each. The election result for the remaining one seat is not yet out.

Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal presidium member Anil Kumar Jha won the parliamentary polls with 21,742 votes in Constituency No 1 of the district while his closet rival Krishna Prasad Yadav of NC received only 15,874 votes.

In Constituency No 2 of the district, NC’s Mohammad Aaftab Alam clinched victory with 18,833 votes against his closet rival Kiran Sah of Madhesi alliance, who garnered 16,865 votes.

In Constituency No 3, Prabhu Sah of the left alliance emerged victorious with 27,799 votes ahead of his closet rival Sunil Kumar Yadav of NC who managed only 18,193 votes.

Likewise, in Constituency No 4 of the district, NC’s Dev Prasad Timalsina won the polls with 28,228 votes while his closet rival Bansidhar Mishra of the left alliance received 23,006 votes.

Similarly, Babulal Sah of RJP-N and Yogendra Yadav of Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal won the provincial assembly election in Rautahat Constituency No 1 ‘Ka’ and ‘Kha’ respectively.

NC’s Nagendra Sinha and FSF-N’s Ram Kishwor Yadav also secured victory in Rautahat Constituency No 2 ‘Ka’ and ‘Kha’ respectively.