Mohan Baidhya-led CPN-RM splits

Kathmandu, May 14

Almost four years after severing ties with the Unified CPN-Maoist citing ideological degradation in the party, majority leaders of the Mohan Baidhya-led CPN-Revolutionary Maoist formally split to return home.

Holding a separate central committee meeting, party General Secretary Ram Bahadur Thapa formed a new party and decided to begin the unification process with like-minded parties including the UCPN-Maoist.

After the Baidhya-led faction, including CP Gajurel and the Pari Thapa-led group that joined the party later, refused to accept the 11-point bases prepared by Baidhya himself and postponed the central committee meeting called for today, Ram Bahadur Thapa had to hold the central committee meeting and decide by majority vote of the central committee, said leader Lekhnath Neupane.

A Central Committee meeting of the UCPN-M held today at its headquarters Paris Danda also endorsed the 13-point bases for party unification.

Today’s meeting entrusted Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal to unite the parties within two weeks.

As soon as both UCPN-M and CPN-RM led by Thapa endorsed the 13-point bases for unification, a meeting of the major leaders of Revolutionary Communist Party Nepal, CPN-Maoist Rebellion and Jayapuri Gharti, besides two major parties formed a five-member Party Unification Coordination Committee, including Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Ram Bahadur Thapa, Mani Thapa, Jayapuri Gharti and Basanta Gharti.

RCP-N General Secretary Mani Thapa said their meeting decided to hold a joint conference on May 19 and declare unification.

Those present at today’s meeting were Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Krishna Bahadur Mahara, Barshaman Pun, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi and Janardan Sharma from UCPN-M; Tika Bikram Hamal and Raktim Lama from RCP-N; Dev Gurung, Kul Prasad KC, Hitman Shakya, Pampha Bhusal and Narayan Sharma from CPN-RM; Basanta Gharti and Tej Bahadur Mijhar from CPN-Maoist Rebellion; and Jayapuri Gharti.

The coordination committee will begin resolving other issues, including organisational setting and finalise the new name of the unified party from tomorrow.

However, Matrika Yadav-led CPN Maoist refused to join the unification bid at the last moment. Yadav said discussions were going on with Maoist parties regarding issues of Madhes and the new constitution.

Meanwhile, issuing a separate appeal to all its leaders and cadres, Mohan Baidhya tried to justify his stance and urged everyone to struggle against internal and external challenges strongly. He said the party’s central committee meeting would prepare further course of action soon.

Progress in unity bid

  • Matrika Yadav-led CPN Maoist decides not to join unification bid at last moment
  • 130 out of total 199 CC members join Ram Bahadur Thapa for unification
  • Baidhya clarifies his stance against unification through appeal
  • Five-member party unification coordination committee formed
  • Maoist parties to declare unification on May 19