NA asked to open blocked Araniko Highway

KATHMANDU: The government has given the responsibility of opening the Araniko Highway as soon as possible, which remains blocked due to the damage caused by the earthquake, to the Nepali Army (NA).

A meeting of the Council of Ministers today decided to give approval to the NA for opening the highway in coordination with the Chinese team and the other security bodies of the government for the operation of vehicular traffic at Khandichaur and Tatopani among other places that fall under the Araniko highway.

Government spokesman and Minister for Information and Communications Dr Minendra Rijal said that a decision has also been taken to constitute a Coordination and Facilitation Committee comprising the Foreign Secretary as coordinator for coordinating and facilitating the operation of the highway. The Joint Secretaries at the Ministries of Defence, Home Affairs, Finance and Physical Infrastructure and Transport are the members in the Committee.

The meeting that took place at the residence of the Prime Minister decided to give approval in principle for adjusting the miscellaneous services special group employees under the Ministry of General Administration into the General Administration group of the administrative service as per the Supreme Court’s order.

The Cabinet meeting has also approved the Civil Servants Welfare Fund Regulations, 2072 and the Order on Constituting the Freed Kamaiya Rehabilitation Problem Resolution Commission (14th Amendment).

Likewise, the government has given its approval for accepting 39 million US dollars (equivalent to approximately four billion rupees) that the International Monetary Fund is to provide to the Agriculture Development Programme under the Prosperity Rural Industry and Remittance Project.

The government has decided to transfer Lieutenant General Rajendra Chhetri at the NA Office of the Chief of Staff to the Office of the Chief of General Staff and promote Major General Baldev Raj Mahat and install him in the vacant post of Lieutenant General.

Likewise, the Council of Ministers decided to promote Krishna Giri to Special Class post at the Judicial Council Secretariat and Shreekanta Poudel to Special Class post of Registrar of the Supreme Court and install them in their respective posts.

The government has decided to appoint Upendra Kumar Adhikari to the post of Chairman of the Drinking Water Tariff Fixation Committee under the Ministry of Urban Development.

Similarly, today’s Cabinet meeting decided to appoint journalist Poshan KC to the post of Chairman of the Minimum Remuneration Determination Committee under the Ministry of Information and Communications.