NA election concludes in six provinces

KATHMANDU: The National Assembly election has concluded peacefully in all six provinces across the country, said the Election Commission.

As per the latest update provided by the Chief Returning Officers of the respective provinces, around 99 per cent votes have been cast till 2:00 pm. The election that started at 10:00 am today witnessed an active participation of voters.

"Till now, only 14 voters are yet to cast vote. Of the 1,677 voters, 1,663 have already cast their votes," said the EC.

Of the total 56 members to be elected, 24 have already been unanimously elected. As many as 52 candidates are vying for the remaining 32 seats.

As per the constitutional provision, eight members will be elected from each province.