Naya Shakti, FSF-Nepal on final stage of merger

KATHMANDU: Upendra Yadav-led Federal Socialist Forum Nepal and Baburam Bhattarai-led Naya Shakti Party Nepal have formed a three-member panel to conclude the ongoing negotiation for the merger of the two parties.

The Party Unification Coordination Committee includes Baburam Bhattarai from NSPN, and Ashok Rai as well as Upendra Yadav from the FSFN, a joint statement issued by the parties said today.

Through working unity and coordination, the statement said, the committee will conclude the unification process as soon as possible.

Bhattarai had formed the NSPN, abandoning the Maoist party in 2015. FSFN, on the other hand, was formed after the merger of Yadav-led Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum Nepal and Ashok Rai-led Federal Socialist Party Nepal.