NC extends panels’ tenure

Kathmandu, August 31:

The Central Working Committee (CWC) of Nepali Congress today extended the tenure of its elected committees at all levels by a year rejecting calls from several CWC members for an early General Assembly followed by the General Council.

“The CWC is mandated to renew the tenure of elected committees by up to two years,” said NC vice-president Gopal Man Shrestha.

The meeting, which began earlier this week, is holding discussions on a paper presented by general secretary Bimalendra Nidhi. CWC members Bal Bahadur KC, Shiva Chandra Mishra, Dr Ram Sharan Mahat, Dil Bahadur Gharti and Laxman Ghimire took part in today’s meeting, presided over by acting president Sushil Koirala.The CWC would meet again tomorrow morning.