NC maintain slim lead over UML in Province number 7

KATHMANDU: Nepali Congress has maintained a slim lead over the main opposition party CPN-UML in province number 7 as the vote counting of 84 local bodies have been announced so far, according to Election Commission.

The second round of local level elections were commenced in 35 districts of province number 1, 5 and 7 on June 28.

NC in Province number 7, home of the Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, has been leading the vote count with 38 victories whereas UML is following with 37 triumphs in the area.

Likewise, the CPN-Maoist Centre is lagging far behind with just 8 victories in the province. Democratic Forum has opened their account with a solitary victory.

Nepali Congress registered 4 victories each in Dadeldhura and Bajhang districts, 2 each in Kalilai and Kanchanpur districts, 6 victories each in Bajura, Baitadi and Aacham districts and 3 triumphs in Doti district.

Similarly, main opposition party UML registered 8 victories in Bajhang, 5 in Baitadi, 3 each in Darchula, Aacham and Bajura district, 7 in Kailaili district, 2 in Dadeldhura district and 3 in Kanchanpur district.

Likewise, CPN-Maoist Centre has won 8 local bodies in the province, with Kailali registering 2 victories, and 1 each in Kanchanpur, Doti, Dadeldhura, Darchula, Aacham and Baitadi districts.

Province number 7 has a sub-metropolitan city, 33 municipalities and 54 rural municipality.

The Election Commission has said that the preparations are underway to hold the third round of local level elections in province number 2 on September 18.

Meanwhile, the EC has said that the results of the 27 local units are awaited.

It further said that the results of the remaining local units would be announced within a couple of days.