The Nepali Congress Parliamentary Party, Karnali Province Assembly, has recommended two of its leaders for appointment as ministers in the province government led by the CPN-Maoist Centre.

A meeting of the parliamentary party held today made the recommendation to Chief Minister Mahendra Bahadur Shahi to induct Province Assembly members Dinbandhu Shrestha and Yagya Bahadur BC as ministers.

As per the recommendation, Shrestha will take charge of the Ministry of Energy and Water Resource Development and BC will lead the Ministry of Social Development in Karnali Province.

With these appointments, the Cabinet will have now eight ministers. The existing Cabinet includes the chief minister, three ministers from the CPN-MC and three independent ministers.

A version of this article appears in the print on June 6, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.