NCP province committee to pick local leadership

PARASI: The Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has entrusted its province committee with the responsibility to pick local level committee in Nawalparasi-west.

The NCP (NCP) District Committee sought cooperation from the province committee after efforts for consensus were not materialised in the district.

Following the dispute between the then CPN-UML and CPN Maoist Centre for local leadership, the district taskforce has given authority to the province committee for picking local leadership.

The district has three municipalities and four rural municipalities. CPN taskforce member Than Prasad Gaire shared that there was no consensus on giving leadership responsibility to Maoist Centre in one municipality and two rural municipalities, and two municipalities and two rural municipalities to UML.

According to the sources, the UML group is claiming its leadership in Sunawal and Bardaghat municipalities as well as Sarawal and Susta rural municipalities and is ready to give leadership to Maoist Centre in Ramgram Municipality and Palhinandan and Pratappur rural municipalities. However, Maoist Centre has claimed its leadership in Sunawal or Bardaghat in regard to municipality and Palhinandan and Sarawal rural municipalities.