NCP leaders Bohara, Sherchan complain about being left out

Kathmandu, May 30

Two senior Nepal Communist Party leaders — Amrit Kumar Bohara and Amik Sherchan have lodged written complaints in the party for not being included in the Standing Committee of the party.

As per the understanding between former UML and CPN-Maoist Centre leaders, the UML could choose 26 members and CPN-MC 19 members in the Standing Committee.

The tentative lists prepared by both sides did not include Bohara and Sherchan as full SC members.

Bohara told THT he had heard he was included as an invitee member in the party’s Standing Committee, and therefore, he wrote a letter to the party chair seeking to know the reasons for the same. He said his party had not yet released authentic information about the SC members.

“Ever since the UML formed the Standing Committee, I was always a member of this body and I was elected as chair of the Disciplinary Commission of the party,” he said and added that he also sought to know from the party why all the stakeholders were not consulted while drafting the interim statute of the party.

“Party statute is an extremely important business. One word can make a huge difference,” he said, adding that the provisions of checks and balances were ignored in the interim statute. Bohara said party Chair KP Sharma Oli stated that he did not have time to discuss the matter with him and he would sit with him any other day to discuss the matter.

Sherchan declined to comment on the issue. A leader close to Sherchan said he had raised some issues in the party particularly the interim statute’s provision that had put party’s Disciplinary Commission under the Central Committee. He said Sherchan had lodged a written complaint in the party saying that in the statute of the former CPN-MC party, Disciplinary Commission was an autonomous body which was not controlled by the Central Committee but in the interim statute, Disciplinary Commission was made subordinate body of CC.

The source said that Amik Sherchan who was junior to only leader Bharat Mohan Adhikari and he deserved to be included in the Standing Committee.

Meanwhile the NCP’s Parliamentary Party   today selected Subas Chandra Nembang as the Deputy Parliamentary Party Leader.  Dev Prasad Gurung and Shanta Chaudhary were selected as Chief Whip and Whip respectively.

Similarly Dinanath Sharma was selected as the NCP’s PP leader in the National Assembly, the Upper House of the Parliament.