Nepal-led task force to complete ‘NCP unification’


Nepal Communist Party (NCP) led by Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Madhav Kumar Nepal today held its Standing Committee meeting and decided that the task force formed under Nepal would complete the remaining work of party unity and organisation within a week.

NCP (Dahal-Nepal) Spokesperson Narayan Kaji Shrestha told mediapersons after the Standing Committee meeting that the party body had also decided to form struggle committees at the province, district, and local levels to intensify the stir against the dissolution of the House of Representatives.

He said his party had the capacity to launch a successful movement against the dissolution of the HoR, but to make it a people’s movement it was communicating with all agitating forces, including the Nepali Congress and the Janata Samajwadi Party-Nepal. He said that his party would also coordinate with other groups and civil society members that were agitating against the ‘unconstitutional and undemocratic’ dissolution of the Lower House.

When asked to comment on the prime minister’s oft repeated statement that the HoR dissolution would not be overturned, Shrestha said the day would certainly come when the regressive act of HoR dissolution would be corrected and the HoR would resume its operation smoothly. He said constitutional bodies that were acting independently as per constitutional provisions and rules of separation of powers would fairly decide on the HoR dissolution.

Reacting to Minister of Land Management, Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation Shiva Maya Tumbahangphe’s assertion that provincial assemblies could also be dissolved, Shrestha said the constitution had laid out situations under which PA could be dissolved. As per those provisions, PA cannot be dissolved just because a no-trust motion is moved against the chief minister, he added.

The Dahal-Nepal faction of the NCP has moved no-trust motion against chief ministers of Province 1 and Bagmati Province.

The Standing Committee removed its in-charge of Gandaki and Lumbini provincial chapters Prithvi Subba Gurung and Shankar Pokharel, respectively, and named Devendra Paudel as the in-charge of Gandaki and Yubaraj Gyawali as the chief of Lumbini provincial chapter.