NC senior leader Poudel defeated in Tanahun 1

DAMAULI: Nepali Congress senior leader Ram Chandra Poudel has lost the election to the House of Representatives from Tanahun-1.

Poudel was defeated by CPN-UML candidate Krishna Kumar Shrestha (Kisan) with the margin of 6,802 votes. Kisan got 34,492 votes while Poudel received 27,690 votes.

The never-defeated leader since 2048 BS, Poudel, lost the poll for the first time in such wide margin.

Meanwhile, UML's Ram Bahadur Gurung emerged victorious in the provincial election from Tanahun 1 (A) by defeating NC's Govinda Bhattarai. Gurung received a total 18,265 votes while Bhattarai managed 16,878 votes.

Similarly, CPN Maoist Centre candidate Hari Bahadur Chuman won the provincial assembly election  in Tanahun 1 (B) defeating NC's Raghunath Poudel. Chuman bagged 15,360 votes while Poudel garnered 11,881 votes.