New local level structure comes into effect from today

KATHMANDU: The government on Friday announced that the new local level structure as decided by the Cabinet earlier in line with the 2015 Constitution would come into effect from today.

The government published a notice in this regard on the Nepal Gazette today.

Accordingly, there will be 744 local levels including four metropolitan cities, 13 sub-metropolitan cities, 246 municipalities and 481 village councils (Gaunpalikas).

Newly appointed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Federal Affairs and Local Development Kamal Thapa made the announcement today.

The Rastriya Prajatantra Party Chairman, who was appointed the Federal Affairs Minister yesterday, had endorsed the recommendation to restructure the local levels as the first decision of his tenure today.

Meanwhile, the government has already decided to allocate a budget of Rs 10 million to each local body so as to let them set their administrative structures.