Nepal | August 06, 2020

New rules to regulate honours, awards

Himalayan News Service
Share Now:

Titles, medals unlikely for over 202 persons at a time 


The government has amended the Decorations Rules-2008 in a bid to free it from controversy while conferring honours, titles and medals to various persons.

The new provisions have come into effect after its publication in the Nepal Gazette last week. There is a tradition of conferring decorations to Nepali and foreign citizens, who make ‘outstanding contribution’ to various walks of national life, every year. As per the new provision stipulated in the rules, the government may confer honours, titles and medals to no more than 202 persons at a time. Of them, only one person shall be honoured with Nepal Ratna (the highest civilian award) while Rastra Gaurav shall go to two persons. Title of Man Padavi shall be given away to 100 persons. Alankar and medal shall be conferred on 50 persons, each.

Earlier, the government had been giving away these titles to hundreds of persons, who were close to the authorities concerned and political parties, without evaluating their contribution to the nation and people. As the existing law does not prescribe the number of persons to be honoured with the titles, the government could give away awards to anyone.

The government had announced names of 634 persons, living or dead, from different walks of life for honour, in recognition of their contribution to the nation this year. The announcement was to mark the Constitution Day. Recently, the National Vigilance Centre recommended fixing the standard for medals and awards to be conferred by the government on various personalities.

Decisions taken by the government to honour controversial persons without checking and verifying their background had drawn public criticism in the past.

In 2018, the government conferred medals on sacked chief justice Gopal Prasad Parajuli, suspended senior superintendent of police Bidhyananda Majhi and other persons with tainted image.

Some of the awardees had refused to receive the medals and decorations.

According to a notice published by the Ministry of Home Affairs, as many as 189 persons had not received the awards in the past nine years. Some of them include Damannath Dhungana, Nilkantha Upreti, Subodh Pyakurel, Kanakmani Dixit, Haribansha Acharya and Madan Krishna Shrestha. “The person, who could not attend the special function shall have to receive it within one year of such decoration ceremony. In case of failure to receive the medal or title within that period, it will be withdrawn,” reads rule 45. Any person convicted of corruption, rape, human trafficking, drug smuggling, money laundering, passport misuse, kidnapping and other offences involving moral turpitude will not be entitled to the honour.

A version of this article appears in e-paper on July 15, 2020, of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Bamdev Gautam breaks ranks with Dahal-Nepal faction

KATHMANDU: Vice-chair of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Bamdev Gautam, who till a few weeks ago was siding with the party’s faction led by Co-Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal and senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal, today said he was in no camp.Gautam issued a press statement through his Personal Aid Read More...

133 new coronavirus cases in Bara and Parsa

BIRGUNJ: As many as 133 new coronavirus infection cases have been detected in Bara and Parsa districts today. Among the infected are 26 females between the ages of eight and 72 years. The report made public by Narayani Hospital's laboratory showed 17 cases from Bara district while remaining fr Read More...

Below-strength Man United move into Europa League last eight

MANCHESTER: Former Europa League winners Manchester United booked a quarter-final spot in the tournament after their second-string side laboured to a 2-1 home win over LASK Linz on Wednesday to seal a 7-1 aggregate rout of the Austrian side. United's reward is a clash with FC Copenhagen in Read More...

Nepal COVID-19 Update: 381 new cases, 130 recoveries, two fatalities recorded on Wednesday

KATHMANDU: Nepal’s Health Ministry, in its regular press briefing, shared the latest updates on coronavirus contagion from across the country, and government’s response to the health crisis. As of today, 412,953 tests through Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) method have been carried out, Read More...

India widens China app ban to cover more from Xiaomi, Baidu

India has banned some more Chinese apps-sources New list of 47 banned apps contained clones, new apps-sources China has in the past criticized India's move NEW DELHI: India has banned some mobile apps of Chinese companies such as Xiaomi Corp and Baidu Inc, three sources told Reuters on Read More...

Kathmandu Valley's Covid-19 tally exceeds 60 two days in a row

KATHMANDU: Kathmandu Valley on Wednesday registered 62 new cases of the coronavirus infection after recording the same number of cases on Tuesday. This is the highest recorded single-day cases of COVID-19 within the three districts of the valley. In the last 24 hours, 57 infections were report Read More...

Wait of centuries is over, India PM says, as Hindu temple construction begins

Modi calls launch a historic moment Muslim group says land wrongly taken for temple AYODHYA: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday launched the construction of a Hindu temple on a site that has been contested by Muslims for decades in a dispute that has sparked some of India's most blo Read More...

Pakistan win the toss and elect to bat in first test v England

MANCHESTER: Pakistan captain Azhar Ali won the toss and elected to bat in the first of three tests against England starting at a gloomy Old Trafford on Wednesday. England have named an unchanged side from the one that defeated West Indies by 269 runs last week, though key all-rounder Ben Stok Read More...