No confidence motion against Bagmati govt, Ashtalakshmi Shakya's name forwarded as new CM

HETAUDA: A no confidence motion has been registered against the Bagmati Province government.

As many as 45 members of the Provincial Assembly belonging to Dahal-Nepal faction of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) registered the motion.

The group has forwarded leader Ashtalakshmi Shakya's name as the new Chief Minister.

Three ministers from the province government, prior to making the move, resigned from their posts.

Internal Affairs and Law Minister Shalikram Jamkattel, Social Development Minister Yubaraj Dulal and Tourism, Forest and Environment Minister Arun Nepal tendered their resignations.

Current Chief Minister Dor Mani Paudel belongs to the faction led by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli.

Currently, there are 80 lawmakers in the assembly of which 34 including the speaker belong to Oli faction while remain 46 including deputy speaker belong to Nepal-Dahal faction.