Nominate experts to assembly, says KC

Kathmandu, May 8:

Spokesperson for the Nepali Congress Arjun Narasingh KC today said that the 26 members to be nominated by the cabinet to the Constituent Assembly should be experts from the civil society.

“The 26 seats for nomination should be allocated to those who had made contributions in the past,” he said while addressing a programme to honour new Federation of Nepali Journalists executive members.

He said people like Bishwanath Upadhyaya, Daman Nath Dhungana, Padma Ratna Tuladhar, Nilambar Acharya, Kanak Mani Dixit, Shusil Pyakurel, Krishna Pahadi and others should be nominated.

When asked if there was a chance of his being nominated to the CA, he said no person who was defeated in the election should be nominated to the CA.

He also said the CPN-Maoist should be allowed to form the government as the single largest party.

Maoist leader CP Gajurel said the Maoists have got the mandate to lead the government.

“We always honoured the NC as the largest party and supported it to lead the government during the past two years. And we want the other parties to show the same kind of understanding for us,” he said.

He also said the Maoist were in favour of including the seven-party alliance members and newly emerged political forces in the new government.

Gajurel also said there was no need to amend the Interim Constitution to form the new government.

Upendra Yadav, the coordinator of the Madhesi Janadhikar Forum, however said the interim constitution should be amended to let new forces come into the government.