NSP-A to handpick central leaders

Blast near convention venue

Birgunj, September 15:

The closed session of the special convention of Nepal Sadbhawana Party-Anandidevi (NSP-A) today formed a five-member committee under the leadership of Laxman Lal Karna to pick 20 members in the party’s executive body.

Nara Singh Chaudhari, Bishnu Chaudhari, Pramananda Yadav and Ram Naresh Ray are members of the committee. The panel will make public the names of new central members tomorrow morning.

Altogether 57 persons had filed candidacy for the 20 central members’ posts but the party leaders today decided to cancel election and pick leaders for the central committee. This decision was taken to avert formation of yet another dissident faction comprising those who might lose if elections were held, a party source said.

Addressing the party cadres after the convention, newly elected chairperson of the party and Minister for Industries, Commerce and Supplies, Rajendra Mahato urged the party cadres to work for constituent assembly elections in an honest manner. “Understanding among the party cadres prevented a split in the party,” Mahato said while claiming that the convention has given legitimacy to the party.

Meanwhile, a bomb went off near the convention venue at 7 pm while Mahato was addressing the meeting. Although no casulty has been reported, the blast damaged windowpanes of a nearby building.