Oli faction weak in Sudurpaschim PA


Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, who dissolved the Parliament yesterday, appears weak in Sudurpaschim Provincial Assembly.

Oli, who is in minority in the ruling Nepal Communist Party’s Secretariat and Standing Committee, is in a weak position in Sudurpaschim PA as well. Out of 39 PA members, 35 are close to the Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Madhav Kumar Nepal group.

According to an NCP source, Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatta, Minister of Internal Affairs and Law Prakash Bahadur Shah, Chief whip Tara Lama, whip Akkal Bahadur Rawal, are close to the Dahal-Nepal group.

Three PA members have openly supported Oli and his move. Ruling NCP standing committee member and Minister of Commerce and Supplies Lekhraj Bhatta has switched his support to KP Oli. Oli’s side has just one minister in the Sudurpaschim Province Cabinet.

Bal Bahadur Sodari, Akkal Rawal, Jhapat Bohora, and Harka Kunwar from Achham belong to the Dahal-Nepal group.