The Bara DAO on Wednesday declared five VDCs as restricted zones. VDCs declared restricted are Amlekhgunj, Ratanpuri, Bharatgunj Singaul and Nijgadh. The ban has been placed under Article 6(3) of ‘A’ of Local Administration Act-1971, said Shantaraj Subedi, CDO of Bara. Except security personnel, people are not allowed to gather there. — HNS

Maoist leader killed


Maoists’ district chief Chandeshwor Mandal was killed in a security operation on Wednesday. Mandal, chief of the Maoists’ people’s government of Dhanusha district, was killed in a security operation at Baghchauda VDC located in the northern part of district, stated RNA Gorakhbux Battalion sources, Prakauli. — HNS