Orientation for state assembly members begin

Kathmandu, December 17

The government has yet to fix the temporary capitals of the provinces, but the Parliament Secretariat has started orienting members of the province assemblies concerned and other stakeholders.

The secretariat has deployed a three-member team to each province for the preparation of provincial assembly at the possible capital of the province concerned. Teams led by under-secretaries Sahajit Rai, Ranjit Kumar Yadav, Suraj Kumar Dura, Dilli Ram Rijal, Udaya Kumar Bhandari and Sanjaya Dahal have been deployed to Province 1 to 7 respectively. “Our team will give orientation to at least 60 people of a province, including administrative officers, political leaders, people’s representatives at local and provincial levels and journalist of the provinces” Dura said.

Dura informed that the orientation had been framed under broad subjects of the peace process and issues of constitution implementation and necessary infrastructure for provincial assembly.

The secretariat has also planned to orient the younger generation. “Our team will conduct a speech competition on related topics among Grade XII students and award excellent performers” Dura added. The under-secretary-led team will be followed by joint-secretary-led monitoring team. According to Dura, the joint-secretary level team will examine the effectiveness of the orientation and recommend further programmes.

Joint Secretaries, Krishna Hari Khatiwada, Bharat Raj Gautam, Rojnath Pandey, Jeev Raj Budhathoki, Suraj Kumar Dura, Murari Mahat and Hridaya Ram Maharjan will monitor the orientation programme of Province 1 to 7 respectively.

Orientation programmes have, however, been affected by government’s delay in announcing temporary capitals of the provinces.


  • Temporary capitals of provinces to be announced shortly after poll