Panel formed to seek help for hailstorm-hit

Kathmandu, November 18:

People of the five village development committees of the northern belt of Bhojpur district who have been affected by the hailstorm have appealed for help.

The hailstorm had destroyed their entire paddy stock when the paddy were ready to be harvested.

The affected village development committees are Nepaledanda, Kudak Kahule, Khatamma, Chaukidanda and Kulung.

With the objective of seeking relief for the affected people of northern Bhojpur, a 15-member hailstone victim relief fund collection committee was formed today.

The victim relief fund collection committee is headed by Bikram Rai. Megh Raj Adhikary is the member-secretary of the committee and others members of the committee are Yog Raj Neupane, Manju Gautam, Iswor Chapagain and Dewan Singh Rai.

“The committee will approach different government and non-government organisations to appeal for relief,” convener Rai said. “Besides the committee has also decided to collect donations from the people who hail from Bhojpur district and are currently living here in the Valley,” Rai further said.

Principal of the Arun Secondary School of Dingla, Guru Prasad Rai informed about the details of the loss the locals had to suffer.

The principal appealed people living in the valley to provide support for the hailstorm-affected people of Bhojpur.

According to Rai more than 1,000 people of around 400 households of the five village development committees have been affected by the hailstorm. Among the five VDCs, Nepaledanda had suffered the highest loss due to the hailstorm.