Parties submit lists of provincial PR candidates

  • Only 13 parties have made the cut for provincial PR seats

Kathmandu, December 29

The Election Commission today said that all parties who won seats in provincial proportional representation election had submitted their lists of candidates.

EC Spokesperson Dinesh Kumar Ghimire said the EC would scrutinise the lists submitted by the parties and give parties three additional days to make corrections.

“We’ll publish names of winners in the Nepal Gazette and submit it to governors of the respective provinces,” said Ghimire. He said parties had to submit names of candidates complying with the proportional reservation quota for women, Dalits, Adivasis/Janajatis, Madhesis, Tharus, Muslims, differently-abled and minorities, as provisioned in the law.

The poll panel had announced results of provincial PR elections a week ago and had asked the parties to submit the list of winners within a week.

Out of 53 parties that contested the provincial PR polls, only 13 parties made the cut. Of 220 provincial PR seats, the CPN-UML won 75, the Nepali Congress 72, the CPN-MC 35, the Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal 13, the Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal 12, the Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Bibeksheel Sajha Party won three seats each, Rastriya Janamorcha two, and the Naya Shakti Party-Nepal, Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Democratic, Nepal Workers and Peasants Party, Nepal Sanghiya Samajbadi Party and Sanghiya Loktantrik Rastriya Manch won one seat each.

The EC added that seven parties won seats in Province 3, six parties in provinces 1, 2 and 5, five parties in Province 4 and four parties in provinces 6 and 7. Ghimire said parties submitted names of winners from the lists they had submitted before polls. Parties had submitted names of 3,565 provincial PR candidates to the EC prior to polls.