PM Oli reshuffles cabinet, nine new faces inducted

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has reshuffled his cabinet after the recent resignation of seven Ministers.

The ministers had resigned in protest of Oli's move to recommend House dissolution which was promptly approved by the president.

The newly appointed Ministers are -Top Bahadur Rayamajhi (Energy, Water Resources, Irrigation), Prabhu Sah (Urban Development), Gaurishankar Chaudhary (Labour, Employment, Social Security), Ganesh Thagunna (Federal Affairs, General Administration), Mani Thapa (Drinking Water), Dawa Lama (Youth and Sports), Prem Ale (Forest and Environment), Juli Mahato (Women, Children, Senior Citizens) and Bimala Bishwakarma (State Minister for Industries, Commerce and Supplies).

Likewise, in Oli's latest reshuffle, Hridayesh Tripathi has been given the responsibility of the Health Ministry while Bhanu Bhakta Dhakal has been given the Culture, Civil Aviation and Tourism portfolio.

Similarly, Padma Aryal is now the Minister for Agriculture while Shivamaya Tumbahangphe has been accorded the Ministry of Land Management, Cooperatives and Poverty Management.

Lilanath Shrestha will now take charge of the Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered oath of office and secrecy to the newly appointed Ministers amid a ceremony at Shital Niwas late on Friday.

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, Speaker of the now defunct House of Representatives Agni Sapkota, among other high ranking officials of the government, were present at the swearing-in ceremony.

Details of the 25-Minister Cabinet along with portfolio